Ernest Hemingway..The Snows of Kilimanjaro

Posted: May 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Snows of Kilimanjaro had to be, hands down, the best story I had ever read.  I like the way he some what put his life story into the story.  How he was in the Army and even to his Safaris he had in Africa.  What interested me the most was how he related the hyena to death.  The way that it was always stalking him and the way it jumped on his just and it wouldnt let him breath.  In my eyes that was a sure symbol of death coming upon him.  My favorite part of the entire was the airplane scene.  It showed so many different things; death, heaven and I felt that there was a double standard for the  top of Kilimanjaro.  The top could have represented the heavens because of it white snow and beauty, but I could have also represented hell because of its cold and bitterness it bring to anyone.  Also I saw that Old Compton was obviously representing the grim reaper because he was taking to the place where he was going to recover but in this case he was taking him to the after life.  The Snows was my absolute favorite story because it actually keep me hooked into it and it presented a lot of what I want out of a book and thats drama, suspense, and death.

Leave a Reply

